Fork me on GitHub

Full Circle Magazine

I was recently introduced to this great magazine for Ubuntu and Linux users which is freely available for download from their website. There are many issues published and I decided to download them all for later reading on my phone or ebook reader.

I ended up spending some time hammering wget to finally get my desired files, so I’m sharing it hoping it might spare others some time. What I was looking for was downloading all issues in pdf and epub formats and limit it to the English language version. The accept regex needs to be changed accordingly for other languages or file formats.

Also I tried to keep the crawling of web pages to a minimum to be nice on their server.

wget --mirror --convert-links --timestamping --span-hosts --regex-type pcre \
--accept-regex 'https?://(fullcirclemagazine.org/downloads/)|(fullcirclemagazine.org/issue-\d+/)|(dl.fullcirclemagazine.org/).*(?(?<=_\w{2})(?<=_en))\.(pdf|epub)' \
https://fullcirclemagazine.org/downloads/

Social